img_1840

I’ve just recently joined the DOC so burnout would not be the right word for me at all.  I contribute my lowered A1C to the DOC support.  I love it here.  It’s like my very own secret society.  Although I sometimes obsess on research and reading people’s stories, asking questions, reaching out, advocating – I think it’s because I’ve never had it before.  It’s that feeling of where have you been all my life?  I’ve needed you! I’m making up for lost time!

I did take a weekend off from social media recently and that was refreshing.  But it’s not necessary for me in particular.  At least, I haven’t encountered the burnout – yet.  Not to say I wouldn’t in the future.  I don’t wake up to it or go to sleep to it.  I don’t take things too personally.  And the the things I am passionate about, I’m very grateful to have a voice.  That’s one cool thing about us, every voice matters.

So why be burned out when I get nothing but positive things?  There are too many wonderful, beautiful people here.  There’s too much education and cool stuff too learn.  It’s a cause that needs me when necessary.  I can reach out for support when I need it.  I am never alone.  Everyone gets and understands me.  I’m learning to laugh at diabetes. Laughter is ALWAYS a good thing.

So, burnout, if you come, know that the DOC is home, this is where you belong, and you are always welcome.

