Diabetes Diagnosis changes you. Everything seems to change. Some things for the worse. Some for the better.

I was in my senior year of high school when I was finally put on insulin. Immediately all symptoms went away. That was the great thing that changed.  My migraines went away.  I didn’t pee every hour and 2 to 3 times in the middle of the night.  I was no longer passing out in class. I wasn’t eating like crazy anymore.  I started to gain weight.  I could focus.  My vision got better.  I was no longer nauseous.

Some of the things that weren’t so fun included facing your worst fears as if your life depended on it because it did.  That was my fear of blood and my fear of needles.  I will never forget that first day a nurse taught me how to give myself injections.  Not fun.  I had to start carrying stuff around with me everywhere.  Like a darn monkey on my back.  And I couldn’t forget it.  My life depended on it.  I had to come home for dinner every single night because I was on a meal plan.  I had to eat before physical education because my life depended on it.  My high school sweet heart was a true gem but it even affected our relationship.  No more weekly date nights for strawberry milkshakes.  It changed my future.  As I had wanted to join the military for many years, that was immediately dropped because of automatic disqualification.

But I will tell you that some things never changed.  Maybe life changed but I didn’t as a person.  I still have my heart and love fiercely.  I still have my sense of adventure and inner need for travel.  I still love to write and share and impact people positively.   I like that.  When I think of my day of diagnosis I know I’m still the same.

